Friday Five on books!!!

1. Fiction what kind, detective novels, historical stuff, thrillers, romance????
I like anything by Christopher Moore or Carl Hiassin. They are kind of mystery, but mostly excuses to create wacky characters that almost remind me of people I know. I also like historical fiction when done well. Good dialogue, strong characters, and challenging writing. I hate a book written as if the primary audience is a fifth-grader.

2. When you get a really good book do you read it all in one chunk or savour it slowly?
Depends- sometimes if they are really meaty, I have to stop. But a real page-turner sees me up till the wee hours. Like the book that the movie SeaBiscuit was based on – I could NOT put down. DaVinci Code, Harry Potter books –same thing. Then there are books like Generous Orthodoxy that I had to do 1-2 chapters a night so that it has time to sink in.

3. Is there a book you keep returning to and why?
I have re- read both Mists of Avalon and Brideshead Revisited 2-3 times. Same with the Thorn Birds. I think it’s the characters that stick with me.

4. Apart from the Bible which non-fiction book has influenced you the most?
Waking the Dead by John Eldredge. An incredible book that challenged me to become more aware of how we can easily lose our hearts

5. Describe a perfect place to read. ( could be anywhere!!!)
All I need is a comfy couch in a room just cool enough to need a little blanket and a cloudy to slightly rainy day to ensure the natural light isn’t too bright. A cabana boy (or loving hubby) to keep my water glass full is a bonus. He could even sit at the other end of the couch and read while we’re there.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.