That *Other* Vocation

NaBloPoMo Day 23: What’s your alternative vocation? Maybe you did it before or you plan to do it after or you’ve done it in between or you do it in your dreams.

I am and always have been a teacher/coach. For five years, that was my actual job title, but it’s always been my vocation. It has shaped the way I lead teams and committees (and now my session). It has a direct impact on the way that I preach and lead worship. It certainly helps me approach Christian Education with confidence – especially when I can draw on my training in educational psychology and developmental processes.

And when I think about the years I spent in the classroom and the gym, I can see how my approach to caring for and pushing my students and athletes (on my good days anyway) was similar to the way I care for and push folks in my congregation to keep growing spiritually.

 

 

 

What do you think?

