what about the words?

NaBloPoMo while I’m off the grid

I feel about the MBTI the same way I do astrological signs… it’s kind of fun to read the articles and see how accurate the descriptions are, but I don’t put a lot of stock into either of them.  There have been some really clever posts passed around lately, imagining how each of the types would die, what each type’s heaven or hell would be like.

Then there was the one that merged the classic MBTI types the Love Languages.

I was actually a little surprised to see that the ENFPs in the survey that supported the post also “displayed a preference for words of affirmation as a love language, followed closely by quality time and physical touch.”   Because wow… that’s actually me.

And then I realized this is probably why, sometimes I feel compelled to actually say “I love you” despite the regular social cues and internal filters indicating it might not be proper. It’s probably why, even in the midst of deep truth telling about how we fall short as a church (universal) and as individuals, I feel the need to say again that grace abounds and God’s love is available and everlasting.

Yes, I offer affirmation with other words. A lot. But there comes a point at which, if I don’t say those words out loud, I feel as though I am withholding my love… even when I have offered love in all the other languages: offered gifts, spent time, hugged or punched them, done something for them.

Thankfully, I am in a congregation where I get lots of hugs. And the work I do requires me to hang around with people and build relationships. And I have good not-work friends who like to connect and talk and build one another up in love. But yeah, sometimes I wish I could hear those three words more often.

 

What do you think?

