What’re you going to do

NaBloPoMo Day 6: When you were 8(ish), what did you want to be when you grew up?

At 8, I wanted to drive a forklift (as in, I wanted a forklift for my daily drive to work vehicle), and had big plans to be a meteorologist or an archeologist or maybe a librarian.

I was fascinated by weather and the different kinds of clouds. There was someone in our church who taught in the meteorology department of our local university, and he would answer my questions so patiently. Later- maybe when I was closer to 12 – I learned that math was a really big part of his job. I struggled so much with all things numerical that I gave up on meteeorology. But I still love watching the clouds and learning about the larger weather and climate patterns.

And I still am waiting for a chance to drive a forklift… at least once.

What do you think?

