Star Word – Liberty

For the past couple of years, I have looked on as some the RevGals I follow online offered Star Words to their congregations.  You can get a feel for what it’s all about by checking out the posts on Marci’s StarWard tab.

This is the first Epiphany that I’ve had a congregation to invite into this discipline with me, so on Sunday as we closed the service at First Pres, members chose a star and participated in a responsive charge and benediction to consider what God might have to show us through those words.

It was really fun to hear from many of them how they started seeing connections between their words and the way life was unfolding.  I found myself wanting someone to choose my word for me – knowing that I was much more likely to choose (or avoid) something if left to draw my own.

So… when I saw some other RevGals making requests in the FB group, I asked Marci to draw one for me.  My word for the year: Liberty.  Here’s a little recap of what went through my mind…

  1. Huh… definitely not a word I use in everyday speech.
  2. It feels political in the way that words like sanctification are theological. They have meaning in our day to day living, but not in our conversation.
  3. It’s almost antiquated, more useful for revolutionaries in France and here in “The Colonies” back in the 1700s.
  4. Feels like a Fox News word

So… I looked it up.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 10.28.19 PM

 

Definitely going to do some digging into this word.

 

2 thoughts on “Star Word – Liberty

What do you think?

