I wish

I wish I could say I understood
the way that things sneak up and pile on
making it difficult to stand
and impossible to dance and

I wish I could stop the noise
that drowns out the beauty of laughter and

I wish I could bridge the gap
between us
between the world as I see it and the world as you live it
between what we hope and what is

the depth of care that words offer.

I wish I could fix
the broken switches and mislaid pipes
the shattered confidence
the two-way that seems to go only one.

But you are
– as I am –
unfixable

But still
I wish

 

What do you think?

