So Long 2013

Part of me wants to add “and don’t let the door hit you on the way out.” There have been a few rough patches along the way, but honestly no more than in an average year. So, to say goodbye to the past year and prepare for the new, here are a few blessings for which I am grateful:

> The FPK graduated High School. Given some of the setbacks of the past few years, this was really a great celebration.

> I passed the last of my Ordination Exams and started the last of my required internships, setting the stage for certification next Spring.

> I was able to attend the ordination of two of my school chums and dearest friends, and celebrated from afar as other classmates started in their first ministry calls.

> The Hubs passed his comprehensive exams and was approved to start writing his Doctoral thesis.

> I had multiple opportunities to preach and lead worship across the area, including Christmas Eve.

> I learned that I enjoy hospice ministry (which sounds crazy, but there it is)

> We celebrated 19 years of marriage

> We have good friends who share our joys and sorrows, and we know our neighbors

> We have plenty to eat and enough to share

> We have a dog who loves us and keeps track of the pack, reminding us of the importance of coming home & being family

Funny how when you get started thinking about the big stuff, the quotidian graces grow larger and more beautiful.

May God grant me eyes to see, ears to hear and a heart to embrace the joy, hope and love that surrounds me, even in the chaos and pain life throws our way. Amen

What do you think?

