A few of my favorite (Christmas) things…

Today was cantata day at church. It was wonderful, certainly one of the best I’ve heard. And that was after spending yesterday evening at the Candlelight Processional at Epcot; Neil Patrick Harris was the narrator (and did a fine job). That was a lot of Christmas (and a little advent) music in a little over 12 hours. And suddenly, it really does feel like it’s time to get ready for Christmas.

I know, I know… it’s advent. The season of waiting. After all, we’ve been lighting candles in the advent wreath since right after Thanksgiving. But with all the “need a little Christmas, right this very minute” attitude in the media and stores… I just wasn’t all that excited about the approach of Christmas.

Driving home from the second worship service today, singing along to the Christmas playlist in my car, I started thinking about what it is about Christmas (and the holiday season) that I look forward to.

1. The annual unpacking of the Christmas boxes. Many of the decorations and ornaments evoke memories of people and places that are important to our family.

2. Watching little ones take in the sights and sounds of the season… from the various incarnations of Santa to the candles to the telling and re-telling of the stories of shepherds, angels and the baby Jesus.

3. Music… the wacky, the reverent, the resettings and the traditional. Yes, there are some that I could do without ever hearing again (don’t get me started on the shoes). But I really do have 7 versions of Silent Night and at least that many covers of The 12 Days of Christmas on my playlist.

4. My hubby’s quest for the perfect layout of the lights and lawn decor. And yes, that includes more than one inflatable. But any time my too-busy, too-stressed sweetie can engage that creative and festive streak that drew me to his heart, I am all for it!

And 5. The Movie Festival that is our Christmas DVD collection. we’ll watch a few of the 6 or 7 Christmas Carols (including Scrooged, Muppets and Mr. Magoo), White Christmas, Love Actually, Emmett Otter’s Jug Band Christmas, Elf and Charlie Brown before Santa arrives.

What do you think?

