What I wish I’d said…

To my friend Amy, who wrote me a long letter after I went off to college…
To my room mate Donna…
To the girls at Domino’s when I drove pizzas…
To my own child, whose own telling went horribly sideways because I was far away and his daddy didn’t know what to do with the news…

Thank you. I am humbled and honored that you told me.
You are a beautiful child of God. Don’t you ever let anyone tell you otherwise.

Instead of the stammering, joking or pretending I didn’t hear
Instead of being oblivious to the pain and fear
Instead of the stupid questions to fill the silence

I wish I’d simply said

I love you.
You’re stuck with me, through thick and thin.

What do you think?

