Voices in my Head

I have a lot of voices in my head. Not the sort that indicate I’m experiencing a psychotic episode mind you. The sort that act a bit like Jiminy Cricket and attempt to keep you on the straight and narrow.   Thankfully, they don’t all speak or sing their advise in falsetto.

There’s Dr. Shaffer, who will forever have me asking “why” in the middle of worship (and worship planning) because if we are going to present our gifts to God there ought to be more than a little thought put into how, when and what that looks like.

There are two homelitics instructors dueling it out every time I get set to proclaim, whether in the writing or delivering.

There is a driving instructor and highway patrolman in my car with me.

We don’t need to talk about the inner nerd (that sounds a bit like David Tennant because he will forever be my favorite Doctor)  who points out the silliest connections between things that become tweets that make references my teen-nerd would hastag #ubergeek

But really, my favorite is the playlist of voices that sing me through the day.  If I were able to log the innumerable times each day when a song pops into my head, it would probably be disturbing.  Even as I right this, the thunder rumbling started Annie Lennox singing…  (here comes the rain again..).   I look at my empty Diet Dr. Pepper bottle and either Tommy Tune sings about being a pepper or KD Lang belts out constant craving

Sometimes there are singers I really would prefer not to have hanging around in there, but I’ll not name them for fear of earworms.  But there are some voices I wouldn’t mind narrating my life.  The kiddo and I talked the other day about those voices that move us when we hear them. It’s not about the genre or style of music.  For me, it’s a voice that sounds like it’s lived a bit.  Warmth and depth, with that ability to it the dead center of a note and the dead center of the lyric’s heart.  Some of my favorites in the random order that they appear:

  • Todd Agnew
  • Mac Powell
  • KD Lang
  • Lyle Lovett
  • Sarah McLaughlin
  • The BareNaked Ladies
  • Dave Matthews
  • Sarah Vaughan
  • Billie Holliday
  • Vince Gill
  • Etta James
  • Lyle Lovett

I know I’m leaving out some greats..  remind me.  And who do you want singing the blues, hitting the highs and bringing your soundtrack to life?

 

What do you think?

