Not sure I’m ready for the E-ticket book adventure

I’m almost done with the first book I will have read front to back electronically- An Echo in the Bone by Diana Gabaldon. I’m not going to do a book review, but I will say that if you’ve previously been sucked into her Outlander series (like I have) this is another good installment.  What I will review is the reading experience.

I’ve read most of it on my iPhone, with a chapter or so on my laptop (both thanks to the free Kindle app).   It’s a long stinking book – 814 pages, which translates to 22,731 locations or page turns on the app.  That didn’t bother me too much, really.  Until the last day or two as I got into 100 pages and fewer to go.

For me, this is when the best novels reach their zenith- that last 10-15% of their weight.  The climactic scenes, followed by the wrapping up of issues raised and the introduction of new beginnings for characters (because their lives don’t end at the last page of a good novel, either).  AND- this is when I become voracious, willing for forsake sleep and the next day’s productivity so that I can devour the last pages of the book.

There is something immensely satisfying about the feel of the “to be read” portion getting thinner in my right hand.  It’s exciting, but a subliminal reminder of sorts that I need to be preparing for the end of this adventure with these people, places and things. I don’t get that on my handy little device.  There’s a counter for the pages, locations (and even percentage) read.  But you can’t see or feel it in your hands.

Will I continue to read e-books?  I suspect so.   And I might even invest in a Kindle at some point.  But I don’t know if I will ever completely give up the page-turning.  I’m pretty sure my vinyl-spinning hubby will understand.

What do you think?

