Extending the hand of grace

I am an unholy mess.

Were it not for the patience of others
Were it not for forgiveness
I would be alone in my sin, my forgetfulness, my hopelessness

I am an earthen jar

Shaped by a master craftsman
but beaten and cracked by the roughness of life
recognizable as his, if barely

I am a bearer of light

Trusted against all common sense
to be more than I am capable of being-
stronger, wiser, more compassionate and loving

I am a child of God

With siblings I may never meet
in places I may never go
but others will, as

I follow the path I am shown

Carrying the light
Bearing witness to the craftsman
Extending the hand of grace

that beckons us out of the dark

What do you think?

