Cinquain

The cinquain is a poetic form, not unlike the Haiku, that is unrhymed and follows a specific syllabic pattern. Rather than the three-line, 5-7-5 pattern, the cinquain consists of twenty-two syllables distributed as 2, 4, 6, 8, 2, in five lines. You can find a little history and samples of contemporary cinquains here. And you can see a  my efforts below.

Spring

Waiting

for just the right

moment to escape.

Dawn brings Liberation. Bud is

now bloom.

***

Sometimes I think…

…it would

be easier to leave.

But my heart says stay put

and learn how to be content in

chaos.

…there is

less at risk in

being myself than in

attempting to please people who

cannot.

…and then

I realize that

thinking is exactly

what got me into trouble.  And

I weep.

One thought on “Cinquain

What do you think?

