>Writing in the Dark

>Since I usually start my homework in the evening when the light is still coming in through the windows or french doors, I often find myself sitting in the dark while I watch lectures, read posts online, or type up my own responses. Thankfully, I am a much better touch-typist than I used to be… or at least an efficient touch deletist.

In the daytime, I can do use of the keyboard pretty well without staring at it (not that I actually use Mavis Beacon hand placement by any stretch of the imagination), but I am useless when it comes to the numbers. I definitely miss the numbers only keypad from the external keyboard.
At night, I am equally quasi-adept… but when I do get lost or need one of those rarely-used symbols (or just my poor lost numbers), it becomes quite the picture. Most often, I end up bending lifting the laptop toward me, partially closing the screen down to shed light on the keyboard, then hunting and pecking until I get back to some regular old words.
When I pulled that little maneuver a bit ago, it made me think of the ways that I get myself into situations where I am attempting to feel my way through life in the dark. Sometimes it’s for good reason. I am stepping out in faith to do something that challenges me and takes me into unknown territory. Other times I have wandered into unknown territory on my own – out of foolishness or pig-headedness. Regardless, I find myself in need of enough light to find the next safe step on the way back to the well-lit path. Oddly enough, that light does sometimes come from the laptop display, in the form of prayers and posts from other friends, in the scripture and devotional sites I visit, in the emails from people who are conduits of God’s love and grace and correction for me.
I thank God for the reminders that I can claim the truth of Psalm 139
1 O LORD, you have searched me and you know me.

2 You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.

3 You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.

4 Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD.

5 You hem me in—behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.

6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.

7 Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?

8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea,

10 even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,”

12 even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.

13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

16 your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me
were written in your book before one of them came to be.

17 How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them!

18 Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand.
When I awake, I am still with you.

19 If only you would slay the wicked, O God! Away from me, you bloodthirsty men!

20 They speak of you with evil intent; your adversaries misuse your name.

21 Do I not hate those who hate you, O LORD, and abhor those who rise up against you?

22 I have nothing but hatred for them; I count them my enemies.

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.

24 See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®. Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 Biblica. Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights reserved.

What do you think?

