ick

which rhymes with sick.

I really do not like being sick. And apparently this is going to be one of those falls… this is the first time in a long time that I’ve had a cold- or whatever this- is in October. And it’s not just me… the Boy is sick. Which means the germs are officially out of control, being the 14-year-old boy that he is. So, the hubby and the Yaya can’t be far behind.

The problem with being sick is that things just don’t work… I can’t sleep, but it’s hard to focus when I’m awake. My head hurts, my throat hurts. I don’t want to take care of anyone else. I just want to lay down. But housework and homework and work-work don’t stop. Even if I do take time away, I’ll have to catch back up…. ick.

But even as I whine, I realize that I have a Dr.’s appointment tomorrow with a very low copay. And if he prescribes medication, I will be able to afford it. We are blessed with good insurance and good jobs that provide paid sick leave. We are blessed with a safe place to stay and enough money to buy healthy food. We have a clean water supply. Thank God for these blessings. And for the reminder that even when I feel icky, I am amongst those least likely to die from common illnesses.

What do you think?

