Day 97

It seems that there is a lot of me in my prayers
Why is that? When I pray to you alone- just me and you-
I talk to you about me.
My heartache, fears, joys,
About the things that people I know and love
are praying and seeking you for
But the circles don’t widen out very far.

When I pray with others, it is the opposite.
I am careful to keep me out of it
whenever possible.
I am more likely to expand the prayer
Around the world, across the country, to universal needs

Teach me Lord to integrate those prayers
Focus my heart and mind on you
so that I might know your desires for the world
and all the people in it.

What do you think?

