Day 13

My boy is growing up
In place of those cute pudgy legs,
he’s got long legs with curly hair.
His face is getting longer,
sprouting hair and those pesky zits.
His hands are as big as mine.
The feet are even bigger.

He still calls me “Mommy” but
the voice bounces around from the cellar
to that sweet little boy voice.
The hugs feel different
and smell different

This new Boy is a good travel companion,
asks hard questions,
and is so very passionate about everything
I love him, even on days I don’t recognize him.

Thank you for the treasure that you’ve given me
Help me to follow your lead-
loving him the way you love me,
guiding and helping along the way,
picking him up when he falls and fails,
and celebrating his victories.
Protect his tender heart, Lord.
Draw him closer to you each day.

What do you think?

