Day 10

I am 1/10th into 100 days of prayer, today, on Pentecost. This first part of my journey has awakened desire- for time with God and for greater passion. Come, Spirit, pour out your power in the hearts of your faithful. May that be my prayer today and every day.

When

when the Spirit comes,
she will put dancing shoes
on my two left feet,
lace them up
and lead me out
onto the floor,
where we will enter
the Argentine Tango
competition;

when the Spirit comes,
she will wander through
the barren garden of my soul
and
as she opens her hands,
butterflies will skitter
from withered hope
to dashed dream,
breathing them back
to life;

when the Soirit comes,
and finds me brooding
by the stagnant pool of tears,
she will drive right in,
drenching me with God’s joy,
then teach me how
to float on my back
(without sinking)
pointing out the flames
flitting about our heads
like fireflies

come,
Spirit,
come…

© 2009 Thom M. Shuman

What do you think?

