Blogger Inferiority Complex

I don’t fancy myself a great writer. I’ll admit I have some skill, and folks have told me that I have a unique voice. I can turn a phrase decently now & then.

I find that there aren’t that many truly gifted bloggers out there. Some are quite insightful, and others are always good for a chuckle. Some have touched me with the poignancy of their posts. But as many as I find to be “Feed-worthy,” there are equal numbers of folk who have no real grasp of the language or how to engage a reader.

So- why is it that I feel so stinking inferior about the space I take up in the blogosphere? Why do I feel so shy about letting people know that I’ve posted my thoughts on something? Or hesitate to point to my thoughts when I leave comments elsewhere?

There are days that I still feel like I’m relegated to the kids table, while the big people have their important conversations in the other room. Without me. Over my head. How ridiculous is that, when I’ve already wandered through the 0 in the big 4-0? Maybe it’s because I’m back in school and have reverted to student thinking… Maybe it’s because I don’t know “those people” who might read my stuff, and therefore I can trust them not to judge me (after all they don’t know me, nor how imminently lovable and quirky I am).

So how does one get over blogoreaderphobia? The most obvious answer is to just get over myself. I suppose the next answer is to put myself out there more… invite people to come over and read this collection of ramblings. And then get over myself.

2 thoughts on “Blogger Inferiority Complex

  1. Hi, I have just been introduced to RevGalBlogPals and came across this post today and felt compelled to leave you a comment because I know how you feeling. I have been doing it for a couple of years on a very small scale, in my corner of the blogosphere and if no one read any of my posts, it didn’t really matter.

    It wasn’t until I started on Twitter, and looked at other people’s blogs in a really serious way and how they wrote that I started to think, I can do this.

    To be honest, I’m still not sure if I can but I am willing to have a go and not worry too much if my posts are bad or good. It’s kinda like doing a sermon. Sometimes they are bad (or at least that’s how I’ve felt on occasion). But, when someone tells me that there was something in it for them, even if it is one person, everything changes. That’s kinda how blogging is. If my post means something to one person, that’s good enough for me to keep on going.

  2. Hi, I have just been introduced to RevGalBlogPals and came across this post today and felt compelled to leave you a comment because I know how you feeling. I have been doing it for a couple of years on a very small scale, in my corner of the blogosphere and if no one read any of my posts, it didn’t really matter.

    It wasn’t until I started on Twitter, and looked at other people’s blogs in a really serious way and how they wrote that I started to think, I can do this.

    To be honest, I’m still not sure if I can but I am willing to have a go and not worry too much if my posts are bad or good. It’s kinda like doing a sermon. Sometimes they are bad (or at least that’s how I’ve felt on occasion). But, when someone tells me that there was something in it for them, even if it is one person, everything changes. That’s kinda how blogging is. If my post means something to one person, that’s good enough for me to keep on going.

What do you think?

