What are you working on?

The RevGal Friday Five is all about Labor today— seeing as it’s Labor Day Weekend, of course. So, I’ll use my coffee break to put a few thoughts together…

1. Tell us about the worst job you ever had.Hmmm– I think the worst job would have been my first. I was a bus-person at a local Fuddrucker’s franchise. The work was pretty icky, since we not only gathered & washed what the patrons used, but also the stuff from the in-store bakery and butcher area. Ugh. Even ickier was the one manager who was incredibly sexist and persisted in calling me “sweetie”. And not because he was from the south.

2. Tell us about the best job you ever had.
Teaching and coaching. I taught 10th grade English and got to watch those kids blossom over the course of the year… teaching stuff that I totally loved (most of the time, at least). Coaching was so very fun- mentoring, playing, encouraging, laughing, yelling, teaching grace in the winning and the losing, building relationships… It’s about as close to pasturing as it gets without the sacraments.

3. Tell us what you would do if you could do absolutely anything (employment related) with no financial or other restrictions.
Exactly what I’m on track to do… finish school, find the church that God is preparing me to serve.

4. Did you get a break from labor this summer? If so, what was it and if not, what are you gonna do about it?
Sort of—but my vacation time goes to my on-campus intensives, so I was doing a different sort of work. But I do get to do long weekends with the family (like this one!) and I took the summer off from school.

5. What will change regarding your work as summer morphs into fall? Are you anticipating or dreading?
Things are picking up at the day job, hopefully the new boss will be hired we’ll recruit for some of the empty positions. I’m also part of the new communications team that will be developing some strategic plans and bring fun new work.

Bonus question: For the gals who are mothers, do you have an interesting story about labor and delivery (LOL)?
I could go on for days about my labor that went on for days… I remember wishing delivery was more like pizza. Call up and let someone else bring the baby.

What do you think?

