AFI Top 10 of 10 – Or not??

The family wasted another perfectly good evening the other night, taking in the latest AFI list show. I always enjoy the lists, but the shows are stitched together with narration that is as poorly written as the VH-1 Behind the Music series. The talking head bits are ok, as long as they are people who were actually associated with the movies in question. But they keep interviewing people who are no more knowledgeable than the average viewer to talk about how they felt watching the movies. One word- lame.

But we watch- because we enjoy movies at our house. The concept of Top 10 in 10 Categories was quite fun, since that provided variety along the way. As always, there were some seriously odd choices. And it seems that there are always movies that people have embraced as “Best Ever” that I just never understood their appeal. Most of the time I’ve watched them (sometimes more than once) and I’ve really wanted to like them. Some grow on me. Some still are, in my opinion, not nearly so good as their press.

So, without further ado, here is my list of the Top 10 Most Over-Rated movies.

10. 2001: A Space Odyssey
9. Napoleon Dynamite
8. Gladiator
7. any of the Shrek films
6. Chicago (2002)
5. Moulin Rouge
4. The Graduate
3. Pulp Fiction
2. Titanic
1. Rocky

I don’t expect everyone to agree with me. After all, many of these are on friends’ favorites list… So what do you think should make the Most Over-rated List?

4 thoughts on “AFI Top 10 of 10 – Or not??

  1. Well, I only disagree with the Graduate as I saw it when it was new and at the “movies.” It was really “new” at that time and eye opening for a college freshman (or was I still in HS?)

  2. Well, I only disagree with the Graduate as I saw it when it was new and at the “movies.” It was really “new” at that time and eye opening for a college freshman (or was I still in HS?)

  3. I liked Shrek… 😉 and I didn’t like Napoleon Dynamite until I wanted it with a different friend – which made all the difference. Otherwise – I agree wholeheartedly!!! Miss ya!

  4. I liked Shrek… 😉 and I didn’t like Napoleon Dynamite until I wanted it with a different friend – which made all the difference. Otherwise – I agree wholeheartedly!!! Miss ya!

What do you think?

