Someone back home is sayin’

“Now why don’t she write?”

One of my favorite novels to teach my 10th graders (back in that previous life) was Dances With Wolves. It’s actually quite a lovely read and was well-adapted into Kevin Costner’s film. There are several really neat scenes in the book that translated nicely to the screen. One that springs to mind often, especially when I find myself at that moment at which I realize I’ve fallen off the face of the earth again, is when Timmons is taking Dunbar out to the fort. Along the way, they come across a wagon that had been attacked some time ago by Native Americans. One of the bodies they see has an arrow sticking out of it, to which Timmons remarks, “Someone back home is saying, ‘Now why don’t he write?'”

There are days I honestly don’t feel like I’ve got anything to say. Literally. I got nuthin. Other days, I wish I had time to sit and just let it all roll of the tips of my fingers and out into cyberspace, but I just can’t squeeze any blog-time into the day. Other times, I’ve got plenty to say, but don’t trust myself to filter appropriately. Better safe than sorry.

So today (well, tonight) I shall ruminate on my Easter experience. This was probably the most anti-climactic Easter service I’ve ever been part of. It could have been any Sunday of the year (well, except perhaps Christmas). There were praise songs, prayers, readings and a sermon. But the only thing that would have indicated that it was Easter is the official greeting… The Lord has risen – He is risen indeed!

Very odd and disappointing, especially since I chose specifically not to go church-visiting this week to be at the “home church” for Easter. It was worshipful, but I guess my traditional roots are showing at this point. I wanted to sing “Christ the Lord is risen today- Alleluia!” or “Up from the grave He arose!!” Or at least “In Christ Alone” or “He’s Alive”.

I wondered what our C&E folks and visitors thought. Maybe I was the odd duck out.

4 thoughts on “Someone back home is sayin’

  1. Sadly, no. In fact, it was quite the opposite. The focus was on the fact that we too will be raised when Christ comes again, leading to much insider-ese. My hubby, who still classifies himself as a seeker and enjoys Easter more than most Sundays in the year was also disappointed.
    I have since heard that there was a fair amount of negative feedback.

  2. Sadly, no. In fact, it was quite the opposite. The focus was on the fact that we too will be raised when Christ comes again, leading to much insider-ese. My hubby, who still classifies himself as a seeker and enjoys Easter more than most Sundays in the year was also disappointed.
    I have since heard that there was a fair amount of negative feedback.

What do you think?

