New Music Find!

This weekend, I went to the local Christian Bookstore in search of music for an offertory. As always, I walked out having spent way more than I intended. I found a book for the hubby – Phil Vischer’s book called Me, Myself & Bob. Somehow my guy and Phil have started up an email connection (who knew that Larry Boy could unite such disparate folks?) and I knew he’d want to read the book.

Anyway, I’m in the back looking for fun worship music to add to the iPod, and I ran across Glory Revealed.

It’s described as scripture sung over “americana” music. Not sure that I’ve ever heard that genre before. Turns out that it’s just some modern acoustic twist on bluegrass/folk music. Think guitars, subdued banjo, dobro, mandolin, violin (not fiddle) and the occasional harmonica and some really nice harmonies. It was produced by Mac Powell (yes, the Mac Powell from Third Day). The first song is a setting of Zephaniah 3:17 – one of my all-time favorite verses!! Along with Mac, you’ll hear David Crowder, Shane & Shane, Brian Littrell, Michael W Smith, etc.

I also found an acoustic version of Mercy Me’s latest CD. It’s the same as the regular release, if they’d recorded it on MTV unplugged.

What do you think?

