Friday Five – Weather you like it or not!

Based on the variety of odd weather events around the world, our RGBP Friday Five is weather/climate oriented today:

1. Have you experienced living through an extreme weather event- what was it and how did you cope?
When I was about 7, I spent the summer with my grandmother in Oklahoma. One afternoon, the tiny little town we were in was struck by a series of 4 tornados. I saw the first one in the distance just before the storm sirens went off, and of course had no idea what was about to happen. My grandmother dragged me (who knew she could run so fast) across the alley to a neighbor’s storm cellar. We watched debris fly past the tiny window for what seemed an eternity before we finally emerged. Our house was fine. Across the street was a home with the roof in the front yard. A block away, the nursing home had been flattened. Amazingly, no one was killed – but many people were injured and hundreds of homes and businesses were destroyed. For me, the next week without power was an adventure. Only years later did I understand the devastation and loss – and what a close call that was for our family and friends.
I have been fascinated by weather ever since, even considered meteorology as a career until I realized how much math was involved!

2. How important is it that we wake up to issues such as global warming?
I think we’ve been ostriches for too long. I don’t think we need to get too busy screaming about the sky falling, but raising awareness of what’s happening and where it could lead is important. Small changes in many people’s lives can add up to a major impact – for good or bad.

3. The Christian message needs to include stewardship of the earths resources agree/ disagree?
Absolutely. Again- we don’t need to glom onto the extremist side of things, but we are called to be stewards of all gifts we’re given. That includes our place in the universe. Not to mention the fact that we have a responsibility to the generations who follow us – they’ll need a home, too!
And because it is summer- on a brighter note….

4. What is your favourite season and why?
In Central Florida we have 5 seasons- Winter (Jan 1-15) Spring (Jan 16-May 31) , Summer (June 1-July 15) Swamp on the Surface of the Sun (July 16-Nov 15) and Not Quite as Hot as Summer (Nov 16-Dec 31)

When I lived in a place with four normal seasons, I loved late fall… that time when shorts and a sweatshirt are perfect attire. And when you might get enough of a cold front to make you feel silly for wearing shorts.

Here, I enjoy the few months out of the year when the humidity drops below 60% and the evenings are cool and de-buggified enough to sit out back (and we can open windows at night). I especially like the 2-3 weeks of the year that the nights get below 50 and we can pretend that it’s cold!

5. Describe your perfect vacation weather….
High – 67 F & Sunny
Low – 50 F & Starry with a touch of lightning bugs
Humidity – 20% (so I don’t feel like I’m going to dry out completely)
Constant light breeze – just enough to ruffle your hair

10 thoughts on “Friday Five – Weather you like it or not!

  1. And, hey! I saw over at QG’s that you were in College Station in 1983! I went to A&M as a freshman that fall! what were you up to there?

  2. And, hey! I saw over at QG’s that you were in College Station in 1983! I went to A&M as a freshman that fall! what were you up to there?

  3. So.Cal has a somewhat similar seasonal pattern with the difference being that our super hot season is more “desert on the surface of the sun”. And me with my unairconditioned car, (purchased back when we lived in cool, green Oregon.)

  4. So.Cal has a somewhat similar seasonal pattern with the difference being that our super hot season is more “desert on the surface of the sun”. And me with my unairconditioned car, (purchased back when we lived in cool, green Oregon.)

  5. Egad! 4 tornados at once. I can’t imagine it. Isn’t it something to look back on a childhood experience like that, with out adult eyes, and re-experience it with increased depth?

    And you’re a fall person like me!! I so agree with the shorts and sweatshirt thing.

  6. Egad! 4 tornados at once. I can’t imagine it. Isn’t it something to look back on a childhood experience like that, with out adult eyes, and re-experience it with increased depth?

    And you’re a fall person like me!! I so agree with the shorts and sweatshirt thing.

What do you think?

