Choose Your Own Adventure F5 – Wizzo!

Option 1: Accio Friday Five!

1. Which Harry Potter book is your favorite and why?
Hmmm… the first one has a lot of sentimental pull, because our family read it together out loud. The FPK was a new reader at that point, and he couldn’t get through the story fast enough on his own. We actually were sad by the time book 3 came out and he wanted to sequester himself and read alone. Sigh.

I liked 3 & 4 in terms of the new characters. I was really intrigued by 6 – it was like Empire Strikes Back in terms of leaving you wanting more (and for the good guys to come back and redeem the story)

2. Which character do you most resemble? Which character would you most like to get to know?
I’m definitely a mix of Hermione and Ron… I would love to have a mentor like Dumbledore. He has such a great sense of history, ability to see the big picture, and quirky sense of humor.

3. How careful are you about spoilers?
a) bring ’em on–even if I know the destination, the journey’s still good
b) eh, I’d rather not know what happens, but I’m not going to commit Avada Kedavra if someone makes a slip
c) I will sequester myself in a geodesic dome to avoid finding anything out

4. Make one prediction/share one hope about book 7.
Dumbledore returns. He’s not dead. There’s something about the way that he went out that makes me think it was staged. Ron and Hermione will play a vital role in the final showdown… somehow. I’ve loved that one of the themes Rowling has developed is that strength comes from developing a “family” instead of gathering all the power into one individual.

5. Rowling has said she’s not planning any prequels or sequels, but are there characters or storylines (past or future) that you would like to see pursued?
No—it’s nice when writers leave well enough alone. But I hope that she can create a new group of characters… she’s such a good writer for the young reader that it would be a shame to lose that voice.

4 thoughts on “Choose Your Own Adventure F5 – Wizzo!

  1. I wish I wish your #4 is true. As well as your #5. She is a wonderful writer and so powerfully weaves good messages in her work.

    Great list.

  2. I wish I wish your #4 is true. As well as your #5. She is a wonderful writer and so powerfully weaves good messages in her work.

    Great list.

What do you think?

