Gifts, Talents, and Dreams on Friday

This week’s RGBP Friday Five was created in response to the upcoming Gifts/Ministry Fair at Sally’s church. Great questions for revving up the old thinker today…

1. Personality tests; love them or hate them?

Love ‘em… partly because I am an uber-geek and enjoy tests. The other day, I actually admitted in public that I enjoyed taking the GRE. I actually was a little bummed that it wasn’t a requirement for seminary… But I digress, I have always enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about myself, to celebrate growth and to entertain growth opportunities.

2. Would you describe yourself as practical, creative, intellectual or a mixture?

I took an online IQ thing once (the one that is 100 items long- not the little one on blogs) that pegged me as a mathematician-artist, one of the more rare combinations. All of the personality profiles I’ve taken do the same… a combination of practical and creative… I have a theory for why: I was born lefty and converted by an overly-strict first grade teacher. Really. My natural brain mapping is very right-brained, but because I had to learn how to use my non-dominant hand, the left-brained skills are more developed than they typically would be. I’m also fairly intellectual, as I have been blessed with an unusually high IQ and an insatiable desire to learn new stuff.

3. It is said that everyone has their 15 minutes of fame; have you had yours yet? If so what was it, if not dream away – what would you like it to be?

I did get to sing at Carnegie Hall once. With my chorale (and several other groups). I’m not going to count that, tho…
I would love to be famous for something that captures my heart and changes the world… like taking a prize-winning photograph of someone that changes the way people see a situation and then causes them to act. Or winning the lotto and using the money to challenge people to make a difference in the lives of the children in their community.

4. If you were given a 2 year sabatical ( oh the dream of it) to create something would it be music, literature, art…..something completely different…share your dream with us…

It would be to create and implement a full year of family worship services written with the children in mind. The dream is to draw families together into worship, teaching all generations how to worship corporately, preparing them to do the missional work of the church in response to God’s provision and grace, and creating a generation of young worshippers who feel honored, loved and essential to the Body in worship.

5. Describe a talent you would like to develop, but that seems completely beyond you.

Dancing. Even when I was at my peak physical condition and most in tune with my body, I couldn’t master anything more challenging than the Cotton-eyed-Joe.

Bonus question: Back to the church- what does every member ministry mean to you? Is it truly possible to encourage/implement?

I think it has to be possible, or we wouldn’t have been instructed to go after it in the Scripture. I mean, we are the body and we each must function if the body is to be healthy. Of course, it’s possible to love our neighbors and turn the other cheek – but that doesn’t mean we are willing/able to do the hard work of making that a reality.
I think it must take a serious commitment of time, energy and human resources to move that direction… lots of listening, guiding, training of more listeners and guides, etc. But what a glorious place that would be!

6 thoughts on “Gifts, Talents, and Dreams on Friday

  1. What a great, unusual play! I’m also a creative-math person (told I could do a PhD in math, though I went no further than 3rd semester of calc) and I also got converted from lefty to righty in kindergarten, never imagining that could’ve had anything to do with it.

    I especially love your liturgy series idea. Please keep us updated?!

  2. What a great, unusual play! I’m also a creative-math person (told I could do a PhD in math, though I went no further than 3rd semester of calc) and I also got converted from lefty to righty in kindergarten, never imagining that could’ve had anything to do with it.

    I especially love your liturgy series idea. Please keep us updated?!

What do you think?

