Summertime and Friday 5 is Easy…

Revgal Pals are talking Summer this week, and here are my answers to the Friday 5!

1. Favorite summer food(s) and beverage(s)
Homemade Ice Cream (Although Blue Bell’s homemade vanilla will work in a pinch)
I love lemonade or Fresca when it’s hot… or a frozen drink

2. Song that “says” summer to you. (Need not be about summer explicitly.)
Anything by Journey – one of my seminal teenage summers was spent listening to those soaring power ballads on 8-Track in my brother’s car. It was the closest thing we had to a tree house to escape from younger siblings (with our friends, of course)

3. A childhood summer memory
Spending a summer with just me and my grandmother at her house in Oklahoma. We’d go to the library, do all sorts of crafts, make chocolate chip cookies, watch her “stories” during the day and Lawrence Welk at night.

4. An adult summer memory
Each summer, we’re Kidless for a week while wonderboy is off visiting the New England relatives. Ahhh…. date night to a grown-up movie, going to the pool without having to “look at me!”, and all those other adult things that can happen without concern for a migratory sleeper wandering in….

5. Describe a wonderful summer day you’d like to have in the near future. (weather, location, activities)
Kidless week is coming!!! I’m looking forward to sleeping in a bit, the hubby waking me with a little breakfast in bed, and then going to a local theme park and riding whatever WE want to ride in whatever order WE want to ride them, then sneaking into a resort pool for a cool-off swim.

Optional: Does your place of worship do anything differently in the summer? (Fewer services, casual dress, etc.)

We are at a single service (likely the last year, since we’re pushing fire code this summer), which means we get a mish-mash of worship styles. We have to combine what feels like 2 congregations, since most folks are pretty set in their option of either Traditional or “Blended” during the rest of the year. We also give the SS teachers time off.

10 thoughts on “Summertime and Friday 5 is Easy…

  1. Your summer with your grandmother sounds really nice. How special to be able to know a grandparent like that.

    You’re going to a THEME park? Egad, I’ve had enough of those this week to last til I’m 403…..

  2. Your summer with your grandmother sounds really nice. How special to be able to know a grandparent like that.

    You’re going to a THEME park? Egad, I’ve had enough of those this week to last til I’m 403…..

  3. Fresca. A beverage from my childhood. I like the newer peach flavored version…and watching “stories” and other activities…with grandmother, sigh…good play.

  4. Fresca. A beverage from my childhood. I like the newer peach flavored version…and watching “stories” and other activities…with grandmother, sigh…good play.

What do you think?

