RevGals Friday Five – Habit-trails to you…

Here’s the game this week:
“… be as lighthearted or as serious as you’d like with the following:”

1. Have you ever successfully quit a bad habit, or gotten a good habit established? Tell us about how you did it.
I’m actually about 95% off biting my nails… in fact, probably closer to 99%. The only way I’ve been able to stay at it- choose a date on which I treat myself to a manicure so that I am more aware of what I’m doing with my hands. Nothing like the look you get with nubs for nails to make you want longer ones.

The worst habit I ever kicked was using “smokeless tobacco.” I started using it to stay awake during the 10-hour drives between home and school (back in my wild & crazy college days). It was quite a buzz, not to mention how much I loved the irony of a spittin’ girl drivin’ a truck while maintaining a 3.8 GPA as an English major. Anyway, it didn’t take long to get a nicotine habit. I had to stop cold turkey.

2. “If only there were a 12-step program for _________________!”
Computer solitaire. I can’t allow the stinkin’ program to beat me… restart same game? yes Restart same game? Yes. Restart same game? YES!

3. Share one of your healthy “obsessions” with us.
ummm…. I don’t think I have one at the moment.

4. Share the habit of a spouse, friend or loved one that drives you C-R-A-Z-Y.
My mom has this thing where she sucks on her teeth. Her mom did it, too. AND – Mom hated it when Non would do that…

5. “I’d love to get into the habit of ___________________.”
The flying nun… she was so tiny and I am so plus-sized. That would be quite the accomplishment!

Ok – really, I’d like to get into the habit of getting to sleep earlier.

Bonus: What is one small action you might take immediately to make #5 a reality?
Stop playing solitaire… see #2 above.

12 thoughts on “RevGals Friday Five – Habit-trails to you…

  1. I love that tobacco thing! I eat Nacho Cheese Doritos when I need to stay awake for a drive.

    Hooray for English majors everywhere: Always Inventive.

    You, more than me!

  2. I love that tobacco thing! I eat Nacho Cheese Doritos when I need to stay awake for a drive.

    Hooray for English majors everywhere: Always Inventive.

    You, more than me!

  3. Yup, I do manicures as well. And yes, I tried chewing tobacco in High School (oh, it was sad the things we would “try”)…made my heart race so I didn’t do it much and haven’t since then…

    But I know what you mean about changing the girl image…I do like to do that…

  4. Yup, I do manicures as well. And yes, I tried chewing tobacco in High School (oh, it was sad the things we would “try”)…made my heart race so I didn’t do it much and haven’t since then…

    But I know what you mean about changing the girl image…I do like to do that…

  5. I am still laughing at the image of you driving the truck spittin the chawin’ terbaccy.

    Good for you on the fingernails! I’m trying to inspire my 8 year old to stop, but not even blue nail polish appeals to his sensibilities.

  6. I am still laughing at the image of you driving the truck spittin the chawin’ terbaccy.

    Good for you on the fingernails! I’m trying to inspire my 8 year old to stop, but not even blue nail polish appeals to his sensibilities.

  7. Hey, I never thought of this, but I’m doing better on computer solitaire since blogging… trade one habit for another.

    It HAS been a problem, though…

  8. Hey, I never thought of this, but I’m doing better on computer solitaire since blogging… trade one habit for another.

    It HAS been a problem, though…

  9. lol re the flying nun- like you I need to get to bed earlier- I need an alarm that sound step away from the computer around 10pm!!!

  10. lol re the flying nun- like you I need to get to bed earlier- I need an alarm that sound step away from the computer around 10pm!!!

What do you think?

