The Joy of the Lord Is My Strength

I actually hate the melody of that song, but I really do love the meaning!! And that’s what popped into my head with this Friday Five question…

Tell us about five people, places, or things that have brought surprising, healing joy into your life.

1. Two guys in suits. When my dad passed away 4 years ago, I had to fly from Florida to Texas on a moment’s notice. As we planned the funeral, I sent word back to my co-workers and friends so that they could pray for the service, especially since I was going to sing. At a reception after the service, I looked up to see two team-mates had flown over to be there for me.

2. A cookie. I came to my current job after being fired from a corporation — by verbally abusive boss, no less. Moving to a non-profit evangelistic para-church organization was a pretty serious culture shock, and I was making barely enough money to still consider us a 2-income household (no more manager’s salary!). As I was pulling into the parking lot one morning, I was singing along with Mac Powell to Show Me Your Glory and started crying. I realized that I wasn’t sure I believed God would do that for me, personally. So I prayed for a real, tangible vision of how God loved me and that it would happen that day. When I got to my cubicle, there was a card addressed to me. I opened it, and it said, “Laura, I was on the way to work today and God told me to stop and bring this to you. He loves you very much.” Under the card was my very favorite kind of chocolate chip cookie.

3. An alien. Okay, so he wasn’t really an alien, but when my son was born he looked an awful lot like Yoda. And I didn’t fall in love with him when the laid him in my arms (of course, the hubby was smitten immediately). I didn’t even love him after we’d been home a few days and the pain was wearing off. In fact, I was beginning to think – 2 weeks in- that I was just not meant to be a mom. Then, after an afternoon nap for the two of us, he looked at me. He actually held my gaze as if to say, “Mom – it’s me! That little guy who made you laugh when I had the hiccups!” That’s when my heart said, “Oh, there you are!” I was in love.

4. A very shy teenager. The mom of the quietest teenager in my church stopped me as we were prepping the sanctuary for Easter and said, “You know, my daughter really looks up to you. She’s taking guitar lessons and wants to lead worship some day.” Just as I was beginning to think it was time for me to back off the music ministry, too.

5. Duckies! Just this morning, in another random car conversation with the FPK and hubby that was a little down – trying to get past the week’s events with two verbal processors ain’t easy- I looked off to the pond on the left side of the road. There was Mrs. Mallard, teaching her babies to swim. Memories of Jack, Kack, Lack, Mack, Nack, Oack and Pack flitted through the synapses, along with the laughter that litany always provoked just before bedtime. Ducks are decidedly good gifts.

8 thoughts on “The Joy of the Lord Is My Strength

What do you think?

