Slow news day no longer

There I was, brushing my teeth and listening to Matt Lauer interview Tikki Barber… because Tikki is going to be a reporter now. The rest of the half hour covered snow, rain, wind and the now-exonerated Duke lacrosse players.

Slow news day, I thought.

Little did I know that at that moment, a shooter was on campus at Virginia Tech. I found out much later, when my sis-in-law emailed me. See, my hubby is an Associate Registrar at a local state university, and I work at the HQ of a nationwide collegiate ministry.

This hit way too close to home. No one I know personally was involved, but I’m there in way less than 6 degrees.

I think that the last time I felt this sick was after the London bombings. One of those neighborhoods had been our temporary home just a few months earlier.

As I did then, I have prayed those sighing, wordless prayers for people I don’t know, but know their fear and pain. And I pray for my husband, that his school won’t be the next on this infamous roll call. And for the families of previous communities ripped apart by violence – whose wounds are ripped open each time the footage is shown.

Would that the next slow news day be interrupted by His Glory.

Oh Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend.
Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord, O my soul!

4 thoughts on “Slow news day no longer

What do you think?

